Brocade and Booties

For my second outfit during the shoot with Sam and Marissa, I paired my metallic and lavender Marni floral brocade skirt with my black silk ruffle Isabel Marant top to create contrast and modernize the granny-chic trend adorning runways for Fall 2012. I gave this outfit a contemporary boost by sporting my grey color block suede and metallic MaxMara booties to compliment the skirt’s hues. With opulence abounding this season, brocade is an integral element for any FW12 wardrobe. And I think this knee-length skirt works in the right amount of elegance. Given the skirt’s simplicity, it can easily be dressed down with booties for a casual affair or glamorized with sparking jewels for cocktails at a chic hotspot. As everyone knows, none of my outfits are complete without jewelry. Truth be told, my bling tends to compensate for my lack of make-up. Thus, I embellished this look with a miscellaneous cocktail ring and oversize earrings to endeavor striking a balance between casual for day and elegant at night without changing my kicks. In addition to coveting Sam’s talent for capturing high-quality photos with beautiful, clean and flattering light; Marissa has successfully convinced me to occasionally rock the red lips! Although I’ve worn lipstick on many special occasions, it’s not part of my minimalist daily make-up ritual and I’ve never bothered purchasing lipstick. I know this might sound cheesy, yet I’m pondering if going to Sephora to buy my first lipstick- is a milestone worth celebrating? Or not? Anyhow, I doubt you want to receive make-up advice from a beauty neophyte, so I’ll continue focusing on my sartorial statements in the future!

Photo credit: Sam Grant, Make-up/hair: Marissa Schwartz. Skirt: Marni, top: Isabel Marant, booties: MaxMara, earrings: Swarovski, ring: misc.

Photo credit: Sam Grant, Make-up/hair: Marissa Schwartz. Minding my own business and thinking seriously! lol!

Photo credit: Sam Grant, Make-up/hair: Marissa Schwartz. Showing off my casual kicks and cocktail bling!

Photo credit: Sam Grant, Make-up/hair: Marissa Schwartz. What an elegant close-up? eh?

Photo credit: Sam Grant, Make-up/hair: Marissa Schwartz. What was I thinking in the midst of this lovely shot?

4 thoughts on “Brocade and Booties

  1. Pingback: 2012 TN Chronicles | TREND NERD

P.S. Let's socialize!

