Hitting the books!

Like history, fashion also explores social, historical, and cultural contexts that shape contemporary trendsetting. Photographer, Baldovino Barani’s editorial titled ‘Bookworm’ -featuring Madison Schill, conveys the best of both world’s according to my books. It sets the tone for going back to school and beautifully curates vintage inspired style in warm brown, orange and yellow hues for fall. Surrounded by dinosaur bones in Paris’ hauntingly exquisite Museum D’Histoire Naturelle, while sporting 70’s inspired head-scarves, high neck blouses, and pencil skirts— this spread offers chic, preppy and timely sartorial inspirations for hitting the books in style this season (…continued following the photo spread).

The Bookworm by Baldovino Barani featuring model Madison Schill

The Bookworm by Baldovino Barani featuring model Madison Schill

The Bookworm by Baldovino Barani featuring model Madison Schill

The Bookworm by Baldovino Barani featuring model Madison Schill

The Bookworm by Baldovino Barani featuring model Madison Schill

The Bookworm by Baldovino Barani featuring model Madison Schill

Speaking of history and hitting the books, my cousin found items in the Ontario Jewish Archive that are sentimental to my father’s family heritage, which also indirectly interrelate to style. I’m particularly infatuated with these photos and my great-grandparents (a.k.a bubby and zaidi’s) marriage certificate since I love nostalgic images and vintage trends. Although I never knew my great-bubby Dora or zaidi Mike (Myer), I ought to say they undoubtedly stayed on top of their sartorial game! While my great-bubby rocks her vintage button down multi-pattern floral and polk-a-dot dress with leather kicks; my great-zaidi Harry, zaidi-Mike and great uncles showcase their strong sense of style in perfectly tailored, clean-cut suits.

Left to right: My great-bubby Dora Solomon. The Solomon brothers, my zaidi Mike is wearing the dark suit in the middle. My great grandparents, Harry Solomon and Dora Rogow’s (nee Rogowitch) marriage certificate.

2 thoughts on “Hitting the books!

P.S. Let's socialize!

