Mad Men chic

En route to the final day in the TENT at the Mandarin Oriental for BFW, I ran into my friend! In spite of being known for my strong sense of style, she said my ensemble, particularly my coat reminded her of “the costumes the characters wear in Mad Men.” As a lover of 1960’s vintage, I’ll take the Mad Men comment any day, especially after contributing two pieces to Boston Common Magazine’s May/June Issue, which featured John Slattery as their cover star. Regarding the ‘Mad Men’ motif, I decided to forego my vintage Chanel belted trench, Chloé tie-neck blouse, BCBGMAXAZRIA blazer, Acne pencil skirt and Stuart Weitzman pumps. This trench, ought to be one of my favorite wardrobe investments for fall since the belted waist creates a beautiful silhouette and oversize collar make it eternally exquisite, in a unique way. Although my personal style is inspired by a culmination of every cohort from street punk to runway RTW and couture, I love innovating the timeless looks. So, for an extra dash of opulence, I adorned my tie-neck blouse with three different length necklaces. Captured in a stairwell by the Prudential Center parking garage in Boston, the industrial aesthetic of the metallic railing, plus concrete surroundings made the perfect backdrop — contrasting the feminine outfit against tough shades of grey.

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew Peters. Coat: Chanel (vintage)

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew Peters. Coat: Chanel (vintage). Coat collar close-up

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew PetersBlouse: Chloé, blazer: BCBGMAXAZRIA, skirt: Acne

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew PetersNecklaces: Chanel, Lanvin, H&M

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew PetersBracelets: vintage, Gorjana.

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew Peters

Photo credit: Joshua Matthew Peters. Shoes: Stuart Weitzman

2 thoughts on “Mad Men chic

  1. Pingback: 2012 TN Chronicles | TREND NERD

P.S. Let's socialize!

