Just like a JAP…

glam8

You might think I’m outrageous for writing this, yet I’m striving to purport my experiences and thoughts in the most sincere way.. Although I’m Jewish I’m NOT a JAP (Jewish American Princess), I grew-up in an area dominated by generations of them.

I recently enjoyed reuniting with a “JAP” who I grew-up with, after more than a decade of not speaking. Upon reminiscing and catching-up, we seemingly concurred that we’re bred in an incestuous Toronto neighborhood. His best friends have remained the same for 25 years. He also said, his experience interacting with an international student body in Boston was different, yet he seemed very excited about it. Unsurprisingly, several JAP’s from my era are still best friends, live together in university and many of them are dating.

The term ‘JAP’ remains socially pejorative for its egocentric connotations, so it’s unfair for me to dub people in such a way as a cohort. Instead, I’ve mentally referred to them by their insular clique and dressing the same as one another, which undeniably remains true to this day. Their uniform for casually socializing includes sweats or yoga pants, a plain tank or tee, a baggy hoody or oversize sweater, and pairing chunky socks with sandals. The sock’s have evolved into the ‘hottest’ thing, particularly at weddings and bar/bat mitzvahs teamed with formal attire on dance floors. Being the quirky, socially awkward person with my own style, I was never a fan of this fashion, nor participated in the JAP rituals. And some JAP’s treated me very well and others didn’t. And I’ve actually become friends with a select few. Nevertheless, I’m elated when people from my past and new readers message me on Facebook or email me– to admire my blog and eccentric personality!

A week or two ago, one of my ‘JAP’ friend’s indirectly prompted me to reflect on my past, after he  kindly messaged me to grab him Harvard sweatpants, as we’re meeting up in Florida this holiday season. Given, the COOP stocks-up on sweats in a plethora of styles and colors; I asked D, what pants he wanted…. Here’s, how our sarcastic conversation unfolded:

Me: “What sweats do you want?”

D: “Hahaha! I want the JAPPY ones, so we can be JAP’s together.”

Me: “I’m not a JAP. I won’t wear those in public.”

As many of you know, I’m not a proponent of sporting sweatpants since they’re all shapeless. Whether they cost $40’s or $200’s, I rather buy lounging pants from Forever 21 than Free City –to invest the rest in Proenza Schouler’s and Prada’s Spring 2013 collections. Nor, will I expose my socks with any kicks except sneakers.

But after witnessing the ‘Urbaine Degaine’ editorial in Glamour France’s January 2013 Issue, I’m inspired to curate baggy garments with socks and heels, as it can be the epitome of Parisian chic, if it’s done properly. Here, Virgili Jubero captures the essence of this ideology in an exquisite spread. From chunky sweaters to puffer vests and mini skirts, Romee Trouw conquers this skate park in style with an abundance of Carven, Cavalli and Chanel. Nevertheless, the amalgamation of clashing street style couture and cool kicks with socks, not only yields strong sartorial statements, yet it will enable D and me to happily be ‘JAP’s’ together or I’ll try to be that way for the day! :)

Glamour_Janvier_2013-dragged-13Glamour_Janvier_2013-dragged-17Glamour_Janvier_2013-dragged-10glam6Glamour_Janvier_2013 (dragged) 15glam4glam2

4 thoughts on “Just like a JAP…

  1. Very interesting article. It reminds me a lot of the “preps” that I grew up with in high school: Polos, sports jackets, designer jeans, new cowboy boots, and always riding around in a huge, jacked up “muddin'” truck that probably never saw a drop of mud in its life.

  2. OMG, OMG, OMG! You just brought me back to elementary school! I grew up in Thornhill Ontario. I know this term WAY too well.The best part is when you say it no one knows what you’re talking about.

P.S. Let's socialize!

