Pre-NYFW: Behind the scenes…

Whenever I cover Fashion Week across the world, I tend to solely feature highlights and inspirations from events each day– to offer a taste of the best of the best! Thus, as the Lincoln Center, Milk Studios and various venues officially kick-off NYFW with a plethora of shows this morning, I thought I’d share the inside scoop about my time in NYC, so far. Between visiting Times Square, some preliminary shopping, meeting wonderful people and attending Veronica Beard’s presentation of the Fall 2013 collection, I haven’t had time to write. But I’m now officially back in business. Upon arriving in NYC, I strolled down to Times Square like I usually do, as I admire the spectacle of gleaming lights that  outshine the Vegas Strip in much less space. Unfortunately, I was exhausted upon arriving, so after returning to my hotel room from Times Square — I just ordered in Thai food and went to bed. On a brighter note, yesterday was a lot more interesting! I got to mingle with people I’ve only dreamt of meeting including Leandra Medine from the Man Repeller, Susie Lau from Style Bubble and Hamish Bowles from Vogue, plus I attended Veronica Beard’s Fall 2013 presentation!

I admire Leandra for more than her style and her ability to turn a vagina into high fashion, it’s her quirky personality and confidence to be herself that make her a true trendsetter and A-list blogger. Plus, I ought to admit I’ve always adored Hamish’s riveting style of writing about luxury style and design, which has profoundly influenced my professional endeavors. Hamish has such a glamorous, yet quirky and creative style, which I personally think separates him from other editors and makes him a total nerd like myself.

Last but not least, I finished the evening attending the Veronica Beard presentation at Bill’s in mid-town! This was definitely the highlight of my day, as the Fall 2013 line is packed with hoards of must-haves. From faux fur vests to leather rompers, VB’s Fall 2013 collection comprised of a mix of classic apparel with contemporary drama. On top of featuring an array of neutrals and cooler earth tones in herringbone trousers and jackets, VB’s collection also included a warm palette of burnt hues that would make any trendsetter standout like a rock star in the form of timeless tie neck blouses and elegant dresses.

P.S. Let's socialize!

