Masculine Counterparts

This is another one of those opinionated posts, so here it goes… Although I’m not a male style blogger, nor the biggest fan of writing about menswear, I’ve been compelled to do so, after witnessing hoards of men sport sloppy clothing and my friend recently refusing to buy a reasonably priced, well-tailored jacket for $99 because he’s “not gay.” Like most of my straight-male friends, this particular one from Boston believes he’s entitled to wearing XXX-L Red Sox, Celtics, Bruins, Patriots and free shirts he scored from buying beer, paired with oversize jeans that show his boxers since he’s not gay, nor constantly making red carpet appearances. Though attending a red carpet event might determine how formal you dress, it doesn’t mean that you should look sloppy if you’re not attending one. If you’re a male sports fan, there’s nothing wrong with wearing team paraphernalia either. But men can show their athletic pride in tailored bootcut or straight-leg bottoms, a loose fitted sports tee and tailored jacket or parka — without looking like they rolled out of bed. Thus, it’s NOT a matter of dressing ‘gay’ or ‘straight’ but it’s about wearing clothing that fits well. As a style-obsessed fashionista, I’m naturally attracted to well-dressed men. I’ll definitely take a fedora over a baseball cap, any day. As snobby as that sounds, I can’t date men who look like they rolled out of bed, my friend Liz and me have determined Derek Blasberg needs to ask me out. Of course, I search for additional quality’s in a male partner too, such as a great sense of humor, personality, ambition, respect, among other characteristics. While most of my male friends are gay, dressing-well isn’t solely intended for them, nor a matter of being effeminate. Despite most well-coiffed guys seemingly being gay men, I know it doesn’t take that to grace the pages of GQ, which I could drool over all day. Also, wearing clothing that’s well-coordinated, investing in high-quality tailored pieces and presenting yourself with confidence shouldn’t be a matter of sexual orientation or income, per se. Wearing exquisite clothing should actually be associated with taking pride in your appearance, an investment, as well as enjoying the pleasure of looking and feeling well-coordinated. In fact, while I was selecting pieces for a luxury Boston Common Magazine photo shoot last year, the sales person in the men’s department at Lord & Taylor didn’t know what a ‘fedora’ was. But that shouldn’t be surprising, as my friend Tia said and I concur, “the Red Sox shirts are the Bostonian uniform!” Regarding my love life, as I said, it’s not solely a matter of confidence and finding a man with an appreciation for style, which is obviously important. Yet, it’s also about having exceptional intrinsic characteristics too, such as genuinely being a well-rounded person. Although I couldn’t date someone who’s exactly like me nor date someone in my industry, because if there are two of me, one would end up killing the other. At this point, I’ve still failed to find the perfect balance, which I hope to eventually seek. But I don’t know if I’m being too superficial or picky, yet I’m not ready to settle for a person who doesn’t fully appease my interests.

P.S. Tia suggests, “maybe this post will inspire some of the American boys to adopt a little British Boy flair,” which is indeed something I’d hope for… (continued below with intriguing photo captions).

Give me these now!

My friend Tia and myself believe if I have children, they’ll turn out just like this. While I’d never do that to my own child and leave that decision up to them for their own happiness (when I actually have kids), I’ll still take two of each garment and accessory from the gentlemen toward the right of this photo.

menMore like this, right out of GQ!

men

This is one of many ways to properly dress casual without looking over the top, as witnessed across the pages of GQ.
9[3]1310696072_13IMG_0684

One thought on “Masculine Counterparts

P.S. Let's socialize!

