Just like a Canadian

Although I’m accustomed to attending New York Fashion Week, my Canadian heritage has rendered me intrinsically obliged to honor World MasterCard Fashion Week (a.k.a Toronto Fashion Week Fall 2013). While Toronto is microscopic compared to NYC in regard to human, vehicle and skyscraper density; it’s actually the 4th largest city in North America. Thus, Canada does have a select sartorially savvy population, which consists of only myself and maybe a few others.

As a Canadian living in the US, I’m frequently questioned about my native stereotypes by none other then my dear American friends. According to my American friends I’m inherently suppose to say, “eh?” at the end of each sentence for their own amusement but I’ve always failed to appease them. However I’ve noticed many Americans say “uh huh?” at the end of their sentences or use that phrase as an answer to every question. Though the answer remains ambiguous– regarding which is habitually better or worse, Canadians don’t tend to interrogate Americans as much about their linguistic issues unless they have a sweet southern drawl. Also, most of my American friends expect me to speak French fluently, just like every single American can speak Spanish. While French is the official second language in Canada, like Spanish is in the US, English is the first in most places.

You see, I’ve actually acquired an intermediate level of speaking and writing in Spanish, while living in the US. Mi español es mejor que mi francés! ¿Significa esto algo? ¿Soy menos canadiense?

But back to writing in English, as I’ve been pondering the question above; I must note, many Americans are seemingly perplexed Canada has a population, in spite of it being one tenth the size of theirs. Moreover, several of them (even those who attend Harvard) don’t understand where I inherit my style because they believe Canada lacks a lot of industries except politics, hunting, fur trading and lumber jacking. Henceforth, I offered my most accurate postulation I could conjure, while reflecting upon Canadian street fashion at Toronto Fashion Week according to Americans (continued below photo).

canadian fashion week

In the top left corner you must meet Joe, he’s exemplary of your “Average Joe” and he’s seemingly a huge deal in Canada. Also his appearance was somewhat entertaining to my friend’s at Mendocino and myself– it was “JUST what we needed on a Friday afternoon!” Joe defies nearly every Canadian stereotype because he’s fortunate to just be your ‘average guy.’ And if you haven’t seen his Molson Canadian rant, you better check it out below and thank me later, this is where Joe “resembles a chihuahua barking at a bull mastiff,” said my American friend — and I can’t disagree with him (continued below video).

Next up, a Canadian lumberjack has put red and black plaid back in style, while accessorizing with an axe for an extra touch of bad ass attitude. Then you have your fur trader, he’s bringing his own motif back, yet he’s desperate to shoot me for my fur Miu Miu jacket. Next, I must introduce Zanta, not Santa, but ZANTA! Zanta has rocked downtown Toronto for several years, the same way the Naked Cowboy jams in Times Square. Except Zanta is the only Canadian to put the holiday season spirit in style 365 days a year and perform push-ups at nearly every street corner. Next runner-up is an Olympic athlete, sporting her national pride in a Hudson’s Bay Company uniform, which is accessorized with a huge flag. As per usual, she lacks the exquisite aesthetic of the American Ralph Lauren uniform.

Adjacent to this champion appears to be Prime Minister Stephen Harper! No, Canada doesn’t “…have a president, we have a Prime Minister”, as Joe explained in his video. I can’t help but laugh when Americans ask me, “who’s the president of Canada?” Despite my political commentary, I must point out, Harper is coiffed in a suit to prep Canada’s future politicians.

Now, everyone in America remembers the aboriginals and inuits dancing at the Opening Ceremony during the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics. But I post a select few aboriginals here, because they’ve appeared to ransack Karl Lagerfeld and Christian LaCroix’s Parisian workshops via turning their couture creations into haute street sensations among Torontonians.

As the creators of hockey, I couldn’t neglect another typical Canadian trend, which is the ‘hockey jersey’ and wearing them is a huge hit for obvious reasons. But Luongo is here instead of Ben Scrivens because he lives fondly in the hearts of Bostonians, SPORTS are a HUGE deal in Boston. Also, many Bostonians assume I’m a Canucks fan based on their fond recollection of the Bruins winning the Stanley Cup in 2011, which was followed by outrageously destructive riots in Vancouver, all exhibited via CTV’s cameras in the background, as people in Boston were doing their victory dance on barstools. Not only do Americans expect me to be a walking hockey encyclopedia, yet whenever I talk about hockey with Bruins fans they bring-up defeating Vancouver and the riots, which Luongo’s inability to protect the net is partly to blame.

Next you have your classic, RCMP uniform, which resembles exactly what the FBI wear and something many people tend to laugh at. However I’m totally digging the military silhouette of the Mountie uniform and want to invest in one, as it has become the biggest thing within my personal sartorial lexicon, I’m especially enamored with the classic look of the gold buttons and belt accentuating the waist.

And, last but not least, as Joe exclaimed, he “doesn’t own a dog sled.” But his father has one, en route to David Pecaut Sq. he got stuck in canine sled traffic, so he had to pull a holiday trick just like Rudolph except with huskies and race over the CN Tower.

One thought on “Just like a Canadian

  1. Pingback: TO Street Style: Fall 2013 | TREND NERD

P.S. Let's socialize!

