Inside Art Basel

From previews to parties, here’s my scoop on Art Basel… First, there are those who go to Art Basel to admire the striking exhibits and masterpieces, while others go to crash parties. I consider myself much more of the former because no living space is complete without art… Artwork to a room is like an accessory such as a shoe or bag is to an outfit. And, when I arrived in Miami on Dec. 3 for Art Basel, I stopped by the preview of an installation exhibit inspired by Charlotte Perriand’s breathtaking Parisian chic architecture, which was brought to life courtesy of Louis Vuitton. While I was awaiting to enter the exhibit, I met and mingled with Alastair Gordon from the Wall Street Journal. After chatting for a bit, Alastair and I ended up venturing off to the press unveiling of PAMM (Pérez Art Museum Miami). However as a Miami neophyte, I let Alastair drive my mom’s ride to the preview (mom, he was an exceptional driver), as I’m still learning the rules of the road in this art deco metropolis. In my opinion, my favorite exhibits and collections at PAMM include but aren’t limited too, the silver stacked bicycles by Ai Wei Wei and the Museum’s extensive collection letter press artwork. Following our excursion at PAMM, we made our way to Design Miami, where I met Pharell Williams at Fendi Casa. Design Miami boasts some of the world’s most unique interior decor and so much more. From Guilherme Torres’ collaboration with Swarovski Crystal Palace to stunning adornments to spice-up any room, the curatorial arrangements at Design Miami are breathtaking. Regarding the next day, I went to checkout the Art Basel vernaissage, which featured a plethora of exquisite contemporary artwork from the world’s finest emerging and established contemporary artists. I ought to admit, the more unusual and avante garde artwork, were definitely the better and most interesting pieces! Plus, I also swung by Scope right on South Beach, the Harper’s Bazaar Collaboration with MCM at Soho House, and a party at The Webster on Collins Ave., and the red carpet event at the Delano Hotel, which included a roster of A-List celebs including Paris Hilton, Pharrell Williams, Lionel Richie, Tommy Hilfiger, among many more!

P.S. Let's socialize!

